142 Comments
Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry, I really enjoy and benefit from your newsletter. You allow me to not get too fixated on the all-dominant big foreign news story of the day. What I also greatly appreciate is the discipline with which you keep 'Proximities' short and succinct. I can't think of any other newsletter that has managed this balance as well. I sure hope this is reflected in your opening rates. So many really good newsletters in my inbox remain unread because they are simply too long, as if their authors assumed theirs was the only newsletter their readers received each day.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi! My name is Hiba. I am Barry’s mother’s best friend and she told me to subscribe to proximities. Joking!

I live in Qatar, work full time and have 2 kids. I don’t always have time to look at news websites. Proximities keeps me up to date on what is happening in a fast and informative way. It’s a life hack for news!

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hello Barry and fellow Proximities fans. Retired from a career of daily journalism in Canada and abroad, I manage a web site called Interview-Her.com. The aim is to get more women experts and activists on peace and conflict issues quoted in the news. I noticed the Al Jazeera TV show whose producers make a point of getting women for their panel discussions. Barry's leadership at the show led me to Proximities.

Proximities is precious to me as I need to follow at least a handful of the 100 conflicts underway in the world. It is one of my shortcuts. The way the entries are written is a master class in succinct reporting.

I want to sign this "mom" but I've already blown my cover.

Juliet

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022·edited Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hello Barry, I've been a subscriber of Proximities for over a year now. I am 40 from the USA and I like the fact you highlight news stories that seem to be under reported or not even mentioned. It's hard to find honest media that delivers news without spin or an agenda. I do appreciate your efforts and in all honesty would love if you did all news, not just what you do now. Thank you very much for your contribution and I hope it does good for someone, somewhere.

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Baz

Having both grew up in close proximity to each other, we both experienced life in a limited capacity in Dublin. It's always a pleasure to expand your horizon and see what's happening out there.

My ex wife did development studies and worked as International Student Officer in Griffith College Dublin. Both of us had a keen interest in understanding other cultures from around the world. Ireland is relatively young with regards to world cultures and I for one am glad to welcome those from afar into my home of Dublin.

Our daughter has Autism and her differences need to be respected and understood. As she has grown, our own acceptance of others has also grown (not without its difficulties lol).

I am also proud to share with my friends and colleagues my apparent wisdom of all I have read in Proximities for some time now. I do, of course, give due credit to Barry for bringing so many key issues and stories to my attention.

Go Raibh Maith Agat 💚🍀💚

Expand full comment

Hi Barry! My name is Judy. I'm a twenty-something year old based in the Pacific Northwest of the US. I got involved with international development projects as an engineering student in college. Since then, I've pivoted to comms for a new-ish environmental/development non-profit and started freelance writing. Moving forward, I'd like to eventually cover international stories myself. I love the newsletter because it's short and succinct! I like to try and stay informed on news around the world, especially not in the West because I am inundated with that already. Yours is one of a handful of newsletters I actually stay on top of reading (though it might be a week later, haha)!

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry. I am Tobias, 60something Biologist, live in New England USA. I read my local print (gasp) newspaper but its coverage is spotty. I like to be informed about the world. I get the Guardian week in Review but often just read the big stories and culture stuff. I am grateful for your wise and useful selection of key stories. Keep up the great work!

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022·edited Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry and everyone,

Former journalist/output producer. Now in broadcast tech. Still very in love with news. Curious about people all over the world. Lifelong learner. Like the succint but informative newsletter.

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Living in the centre of Ireland, in my mid-thirties and was introduced to the newsletter by a colleague and really enjoy receiving perspective from beyond the usual fish-eye lens... It's succinct enough not to overwhelm with reliable links to more details. Thanks for what you do

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hey there, Barry. I live in Northern NJ, and I’ve been subscribed for about six months. I’m a big world history buff, and I appreciate knowing what is happening across the globe.

Expand full comment

Hi Barry, Just having a look at your posts. I plan on sharing it with some goodl organisations that need to know about this.

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hey Barry & all the readers!

I actually know Barry as a real-life human being - we both worked at Amnesty Ireland and have some lovely friends in common. I love the idea behind Proximities and, when I open it, I'm always glad I did - it's interesting and eye-opening (and succinct!)

However, I must confess that I just don't open it as often as I would like. I'm pretty sure this is because it tends to arrive in my inbox just as I'm winding down for the day, or I'm already in bed (between 11pm and 1am-ish) so I'm not really in the mood for any type of news at that hour.

Is it the same for everyone everywhere? Is there any chance I could get it around the 6pm (GMT) mark? Or are you still writing it that stage Barry?!!

I've been meaning to send you a DM just to find out. But then you emailed this request to join the discussion and I thought I'd bring it up here, in case anyone else has any thoughts on the matter.

That's it from me - see ya for a pint somewhere in the future Mr. Malone!

Marie (in Cork, down the south of Ireland)

ps. If anyone out there likes Nick Cave and is feeling the urge to subscribe to yet ANOTHER periodic email, I quite like The Red Hand Files (https://www.theredhandfiles.com/). It's a weekly one (ish).

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry - I first found you on Twitter and followed along because my Mom was also a Malone...a quirky reason perhaps but I soon became hooked on your great content. I recently left Twitter because the negativity of the comments can make it hard to feel good about the world sometimes. Proximities is a wonderfully informative newsletter and this thread of positive feedback from open-minded people is very uplifting :)

Expand full comment
Mar 31, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry! Although we didn't work together directly at Al Jazeera, I'm very happy to say that we were crossing paths at the same time. I came across Proximities on LinkedIn and it's just the shot of news I need on a daily basis. Admittedly, I've turned most news notifications off in the last years because it's just too much for me sometimes and I don't have much space left to process it all, but I really enjoy Proximities simply because it keeps me in touch with what's going on without it being overwhelming. And even though I've left the journalism orbit completely, I do still get the itch every now and then and I like that I can tap into it with your newsletter.

I feel the same about Espresso from the Economist. Like Proximities, it's insightful, covers the basics and I then deep dive into those that interest me most. To have someone combing through it all (especially knowing you to be someone trustworthy) is so valuable and cuts out all the noise - thank you for what you do!

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry. I am a new user of Proximities. So far I like it. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

Expand full comment

Hi Barry and everyone,

Proximities has become a daily must read for me, the most effective way for me to balance the constant noise about the rich world that I get from most news media organizations!

I am from South Africa originally, lived in China for 20 years, and moved to the U.S. just before Trump became president. My job is editor in chief of SupChina.com

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Bar, I’m one of the very privileged ones here to call you my friend. I thank Qatar so much for allowing our paths to cross.

Love Proximities and have ensured everyone I know is also reading.

Much love to you.

Annalouise xx

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry and Barry's mom!

Posting to you from the tiny state of Rhode Island. I closely follow all things Palestinian which is how I found Barry and Proximities. As an American you have to actively seek information on events outside of US politics and celebrity culture. It's truly an embarrassment, but I'm preaching to the choir here.

Proximities ensures I don't miss the day's stories outside of what I'm actively tracking. And where else would I learn the president of El Salvador still uses the term homeboys?

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry! I'm an American based in Sweden, and yours is one of just two subscriptions I'm consistently able to read. The other is Matthew Ogle's Pome, which sends a daily poem—or poem excerpt—that's also relatively brief. Quite different content, but a similar chance to escape some of the overwhelming isolation of the moment.

I found Proximities via a LinkedIn comment, and its brevity and clarity of purpose make all the difference. Just a few minutes while I'm on the bus, and I learn things that US and Swedish media aren't covering, presented with a frankness they don't/can't/won't often use.

Your work makes my day better, and I especially appreciate how you return to the same stories with updates. Thank you so, so much.

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022·edited Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hey Barry,

I'm based in Dublin. I followed in your footsteps quite a few years back, working with another Joe at Businessworld. I did some journalism and reporting after that, three times a recipient of the Simon Cumbers Media Fund.

Although I've moved to the darker side (content marketing) I still love to keep up to date on international reporting, particularly the kind of stories that get missed. That's why I love the idea of Proximities. I think it has a fantastic future, so keep up the great work!

Joe

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hello Barry, fellow readers. I was a diplomat with the British Diplomatic Service for most of the 1990s, a chunk of it in Cairo. Then I resigned to do a PhD and am now an Associate Professor of Political Science and International Studies at Dickinson College, an internationally-focused undergraduate institution in Pennsylvania. I research and teach mainly on the Arab World and Turkey, but my broader interests include Africa south of the Sahara and the Mediterranean world. I am spending the year in Italy directing Dickinson's program here, which has meant adding Italian to the languages I speak. I benefit from Barry's eye for the slower-moving but still important stories, particularly those happening in places I otherwise spend less time on, such as Latin America and South-East Asia.

Cheers, Ed

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry, thanks for Proximities. It's great to get this short daily synopsis of usually not so great international news. Well done. All the best, Síle Maguire

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry, I’m David in Ireland. I’m quite new to Proximities having only discovered it by way of a retweet on Twitter recently. However I already look forward to the daily emails, as those sent so far have provided a great window into under-reported events and situations around the world, which I otherwise would not have been aware of. Keep up the great work! Thank you, David.

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hello Barry,

I love reading. I apply my knowledge on current events, problems and provide solutions. I also check whether my solution is sustainable and viable with experts in the respective fields. I like Sandra Gathmann's Start Here explainer and got to know about your newsletter through her. Your idea to highlight events which aren't covered by the big influential media is highly applaudable!!

Best,

Mugilan

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

I have been a fan of Proximities for a long time. I work at a newspaper so am bombarded with news constantly. But much of it is celebrity fluff, or inconsequential, or written by people who've been assigned a story even though they have almost no background in the subject (the internet is constantly starved for new material and young reporters are pressured to deliver fast, not to do a deep-dive into a topic). And, as you know, American media is very US-centric. The media has a pack mentality, so everyone will write about Darfur, then move to Afghanistan, then Ukraine, but if it's not a click-bait country, it will be ignored. So Proximities is invaluable for what you cover -- and what you choose to NOT cover. Big, continued thanks.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry,

I live on beautiful Dharawal country in Australia, a place called Wollongong, just south of Sydney. I really appreciate Proximities and value the succinct insights into current affairs and issues outside the Western-biased media. You do a fantastic job, thank you. I hope you stay safe and well. With sincere thanks, Katie

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry

I'm a software engineering manager based in Ireland. I like to have broad context behind the headlines and so read a diverse set of sources that prove to be reliable and informative. I've been following you on Twitter for many years as you regularly surface stories that were not widely reported as well as boosting under-served perspectives. When you launched "Proximities" it was a no-brainer to sign up. Thank you for doing what you do!

Alan

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry! I'm not sure if you remember, but we met in Libya in 2011/2012. I followed you then on Twitter and subscribed to Proximities after seeing you tweet about it a while back. I really appreciate the focus on non-Western news, and your ability to summarise such a range of events so concisely. It truly only takes me a minute to read it, which is a big difference to most newsletters I subscribe to.

I've tried for a few years now to intentionally focus my reading and information intake on things that don't get enough coverage (ie. from outside the US and Europe) – and Proximities helps me do that. I read through (and contribute to) Global Voices for the same reason, but your newsletter is more succinct and regular, plus covers such a range of countries + happenings. Can't imagine how much work must go into it behind the scenes, so a big thank you for all that!

Zara

Expand full comment

Hi Barry: I got introduced to you through my close friend Hiba. I like the quick fix I get from your piece each day and the fact that you cover some news that the “mainstream” news services don’t cover. Thanks so much.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry, here's Bavo from Belgium. I'm a language teacher turned IT nerd and occasional writer & storyteller (mainly children's stories) suffering from incurable curiosity.

Your pieces are mostly the first thing I read in the morning, small enough to digest on a day-to-day level while their daily return helps me grasp the broader context in the long run. Thank you for pointing at the enormous gaps in our media coverage!

Expand full comment

Hello Barry,

I'm a freelance reporter in western Virginia who covers Appalachia and mountain communities. I read dozens of newsletters to keep abreast with regional, national and global news. I always make time to read through Proximities for its brevity and because you regularly make good on your promise of sharing underreported news. Proximities adds breadth and depth to my understanding of the world, and enhances my own reporting here in Appalachia.

Thank you,

Mason Adams

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hello Barry, I'm 26 and living in Dublin by way of Kilkenny. I'm a big fan of Proximities' format and appreciate how hard it must be sometimes to keep it to three stories in each newsletter! I really like that it helps me to, even slightly, de-centre the West in my news diet. My partner is from India and distrusts much of the media over there that is under the government's influence, and that's made me more conscious of how and where I get my news too. I don't read it every single day, but sometimes I go back and catch up on past stories, you might see something like that reflected in your stats! Eleanor

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Thanks for the great newsletter Barry! Adding to the consensus that its brevity is a strength, not a weakness. I'm an American living abroad (Israel) among people from many different countries, and reading Proximities is helping with my awakening to just how insular American news is.

Expand full comment

Hello Barry. I came across Proximities via Twitter and I am finding it a succinct and useful reference point for under-reported stories. I am a Program Editor at Al Jazeera English and I do often locate such stories in the wire feed on iNews. But your format cuts to the chase by highlighting the top stories meriting coverage. Especially now with news coverage dominated understandably by Ukraine I find it very helpful to have a quick reference point for other stories. Your newsletter is also helpful in my own research for my quiz newsletter Geopolitico. I post regular quizzes on globally relevant themes ranging from Myanmar and Ethiopia to a Political History of the Winter Olympics and now Ukraine https://geopolitico.substack.com/

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry,

I am based in South Africa and have a great interest in what happens on this particular continent. Your short daily newsletter has proved invaluable in guiding me to what is happening but not covered in the local media here.

Thank you for your much valued contribution.

Expand full comment

Hi Barry,

I'm a British student studying a Masters in IR in Taiwan. I have only been subscribed a few weeks but I find Proximities to be a masterful blend of 'small' stories that make you think and 'big' stories that really aren't getting the attention they deserve. I live in a very international environment and the ability to connect with other nationalities by bringing up an item of (their) local interest is also incredibly useful.

As others have said, the brevity of the newsletter really is a virtue.

If I had a question it would be: what is your process for gathering possible items? and: what is your process for determining which ones make it in?

Thanks for creating this introduction thread as well, it's a really pleasant idea.

Warm regards,

Josh

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

hi Barry, I've replied via email. Hope you can find my message there. Jacopo.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi! I'm a programmer and writer. I use Proximities both as a substitute for less important news and as a way to learn a bit about geography and geopolitics. When an unfamiliar topic or place shows up in the newsletter, I try to learn a little extra about it (I have a spaced repetition system for this). I appreciate the effort to balance different kinds of news with an eye to what's really important.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022·edited Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry,

Carol Keogh here, multi-disciplinary artist and avid reader of information on just about everything. Like many people here I feel my attention is being channelled into narrow tunnels of vision by Western news and all things are connected so it's great to get other aspects on the big picture. Also, the people whose lives are affected by the events you highlight deserve to have their experiences told. It's shining a direct light on some under-illuminated stories. Thanks for doing it.

C

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi, Barry. I'm from northern Spain and I follow the news from several satellite channels. Melissa Chan, whose reporting on some of said channels I highly value, recommended your newsletter a while back and I've been reading it since. I was thrilled when I realized you were the same Barry Malone from AJ News (I know you've moved on to new challenges since).

Yours are the news I wake up to. They're not only concise and to the point, with a link to further research on the topic, but also provide your human concern as a citizen of the world who has one finger on the pulse of what's going on and we on the Western Hemisphere won't (or can't) usually see.

Your work and dedication are really appreciated. Thank you for keeping it simple, personal and significant, which is not easy to do.

Io Fonte

Expand full comment

Hi Barry, my name is Tom and I'm based in London, UK. We have actually met, many years ago in Addis-Ababa when we both worked there. I really like proximities, its a really nicely curated roundup of non-Western stories and enjoy spending a couple of minutes a day catching up with it.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Ola from Lisboa Barry,

Love reading Proximities because I don't work in news anymore, so all I get is Western-focused stories from the US and Europe, so this keeps me in the loop. And I love that it is short but I can click on links to go more in depth if I have time. Also, miss working with you ;) azi

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry, I've been reading your Proximities since you started it, which coincided with my leaving Al Jazeera for a new life away from a newsroom.

Your news letter is a great way to be aware of stories that are not necessarily in the headlines. No longer being part of a newsroom, I find it an easy way to go in depth into important stories. Thank you for doing this on a daily basis.

Maria Arbelaez - Life & Professional Coach - France

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry! I don't know how many times I've said this before (to others more than to you) but I love what you are doing with Proximities! I'm Akshi and I live in India. I am an independent writer and researcher, and a lot of the work I do focuses on women in politics. For my newsletter #WomenLead, I also try to ensure that I am covering *global* updates that are truly global and not focussed on a handful of countries, and therefore I totally resonate with what you are trying to achieve here. Also hats off for doing this everyday. I write weekly and it takes so much work, and I can't imagine what a daily publishing schedule feels like!

Expand full comment

Hi Barry, Kevin here. Trust all is well with you. Always good to get the Proximities e-mail. So much news, so little space, but really pleased to see coverage of countries that need a continual spotlight for fear of being forgotten. Hey, could you squeeze to four items? All the best.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi all out there,

Ruud Elmendorp here in Nairobi.

TV correspondent for international media in Nairobi.

Am happy with Proximities since it give a brief overview of matters that matter without it being long read, but more than reminders.

So every time I open my email I look forward to them to get my mind focused.

Are they on Twitter as well?

Looking forward to more comments in this discussion.

Ruud Elmendorp

www.twitter.com/ruudelmendorp

WhatsApp +254736746312

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hiya. I’m Allan from The West Coast of Canada. I’ve been following Barry on Twitter (@allanpollock) for a few years and his Proximities newsletter was a natural choice for me. I don’t subscribe to cable so I get my news on line. I’m retired.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Hi Barry,

Although I'm in UN media and therefore it's my job to know what is happening around the world, I find the Proximities help me a great deal in keeping those equally important stories that at any time can be drowned out by the dominant story of the moment.

As others have said here, the short summaries plus a link is the way to go - get so many lengthy newsletters that I never get to read.

Many thanks for coming up with this.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Barry Malone

Love Proximities. Living in the US you rarely hear about what is going on in other countries. I featured it in my newsletter and heard from many who felt the same way. Here's the link: https://www.cmmnwlth.io/p/043

Expand full comment

Hi Barry,

I'm in the US and I appreciate your broader perspective on the world. Regular news overwhelms me but you are clear and succinct so I am able to stay informed without becoming swamped. Thank you for what you do! Your consistency is inspiring

Expand full comment